Skip to main content

Dean's Communication Advisory Board

The mission of the Dean's Communications Advisory Board (DCAB) is to assist and advise the dean and the school's director of communications and support their effort to create a communication structure that effectively informs and connects staff, faculty and trainees and forges a spirit of community and a sense of involvement.

  • The advisory board helps channel information to the school's communications office about people or projects that need a wider audience.
  • The board also assists the school's efforts to distribute the right information to the right people in the right form.
  • Individual board members lend their expertise and feedback in the process of preparing and reviewing texts and other materials prior to publication, as well as advising on a range of communication projects and issues.

Current DCAB Members


Brian Auerbach

Brian Auerbach

National Center of Excellence in Women's Health
(Mount Zion)

Sandy Butler

Sandy Butler

SOM Dean's Office



Vaishali Patel

SOM Undergraduate Medical Education

Eric Widera

Eric Widera

San Francisco VA Medical Center

Sara Plett

Sara Plett, MD

Department of Radiology & Biomedical Imaging (Resident)

Anne Kavanagh

Anne Kavanagh

Development and Alumni Relations

Shelley Adler

Shelley Adler, PhD

Osher Center for Integrative Medicine

Christina Mangurian

Christina Mangurian, MD

SFGH Psychiatry

Cristina Morrison

Cristina Morrison

Operational Excellence

Katie Murphy

Katherine Murphy

Department of Radiology & Biomedical Imaging (Staff)

Brandy Nikaido

Brandy Nikaido

UCSF Fresno

Jennifer Rosko

Jennifer Rosko

Student Activity Center

Dave Robb

Dave Robb

AIDS Research Institute

Alex Schnoes

Alexandra Schnoes, PhD


Wayne Steward

Wayne Steward, PhD

Center for AIDS Prevention Studies (CAPS)


Margaret DiLaura

SFGH Dean's Office

Sarah Paris

Sarah Paris (chair)

SOM Communications



If you are interested in serving on the Dean's Communications Advisory Board, please email Sarah Paris.