Skip to main content


Chancellor, UCSF

Dean, UCSF School of Medicine

Sam Hawgood, MBBS

Sam Hawgood, MBBS

Chancellor Sam Hawgood has served UC San Francisco for 32 years as a clinician, researcher, teacher, mentor and leader. He succeeded Susan Desmond-Hellmann on July 17, 2014 as chancellor of UCSF. Hawgood has also been serving as dean of the UCSF School of Medicine and as vice chancellor for medical affairs since September of 2009, after assuming the role of interim dean in December of 2007. His distinguished career at UCSF includes serving as chair of the Department of Pediatrics, associate director of the Cardiovascular Research Institute.

Hawgood joined UCSF as a research fellow in 1982, and has maintained his own laboratory since 1984. His focus on the proteins associated with pulmonary surfactant has led to a multi-disciplinary Program Project Grant from the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute, which has supported his work continuously since then and gained him an international reputation in neonatology research.

Numerous organizations and publications have recognized Hawgood’s scientific contributions over the past few decades. Hawgood is a member of the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Association of Physicians, and in 2010 was elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM), part of the National Academy of Sciences.

Hawgood has maintained an active presence in clinical medicine, including serving first as division chief of the Division of Neonatology, then as chair of Pediatrics and physician-in-chief of the UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital prior to becoming dean. He is the president of the UCSF Medical Group, the faculty association that represents more than 1,800 UCSF physicia


Executive Vice Dean, UCSF School of Medicine
Vice Chancellor for Research, UCSF

Keith R. Yamamoto, PhD

Executive Vice Dean Yamamoto oversees strategic planning as well as research activities at the school. After earning a PhD at Princeton, he came to UCSF in 1973. He served as chair of the Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology from 1994 to 2003. Dr. Yamamoto is regarded as an international leader in studying the mechanisms of signaling and gene regulation by intracellular receptors.

As the vice chancellor for research, he leads UCSF’s effort to advance innovative, collaborative and interdisciplinary approaches to research across the university’s schools of dentistry, medicine, nursing and pharmacy, and its graduate programs in biological sciences.


UCSF School of Medicine Vice Deans


Sue Carlisle, MD, PhD

Dr. Carlisle is the vice dean for San Francisco General Hospital, responsible for managing UCSF’s affiliation with the City and County of San Francisco, as well as oversight of SFGH’s clinical services and growth, planning for the new hospital, solving seismic issues, expansion of MediCal under the Affordable Care Act, and supervision of educational and research programs at SFGH.

She completed her residencies in Medicine (1984) and Anesthesia (1990) at UCSF, after earning her medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania and her PhD from Tulane University. Dr. Carlisle is a professor of anesthesia and medicine.


Neal H. Cohen, MD

Dr. Cohen (UCSF '71) is the vice dean responsible for international medical services, risk management, compliance and related special projects. Dr. Cohen is a professor of anesthesia and medicine.



Elena Fuentes-Afflick, MD, MPH

Dr. Fuentes-Afflick is vice dean for academic affairs and faculty development. She is responsible for overseeing all academic affairs in the School of Medicine, including the recruitment, development and advancement of a diversified academic workforce. She is also responsible for overseeing innovative programs for faculty orientation, career development, and leadership training. Dr. Fuentes-Afflick is a professor of pediatrics and of epidemiology and biostatistics.


Catherine Lucey, MD

Dr. Lucey is vice dean for education.She directs the undergraduate, graduate and continuing medical education programs of the School of Medicine and the Office of Medical Education. Dr. Lucey comes to UCSF from Ohio State University where she was vice dean for education for the College of Medicine and associate vice president for health sciences education for the Office of Health Sciences. She is a member of the AAMC MR5 committee, charged with overseeing the revision of the Medical College Admission Test process. Dr. Lucey completed her residency in internal medicine, including service as chief resident, at the UCSF-affiliated San Francisco General Hospital, after earning her medical degree from the Northwestern University School of Medicine.


Bruce U. Wintroub, MD

Dr. Wintroub's role as vice dean is to provide leadership in clinical affairs; in the use, planning and allocation of academic and clinical space; in the recruitment of school leadership; and in schoolwide strategic planning. He is a professor and chair of the Department of Dermatology. Dr. Wintroub received his MD from Washington University and completed his residency and fellowship at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Wintroub has been active in the area of health care delivery and management, and he is the chairman of the Dermatology Foundation.