Skip to main content

Matthew State Appointed As New Chair of Psychiatry

Matthew State

School of Medicine Dean Sam Hawgood and Medical Center CEO Mark Laret jointly announced the appointment of Matthew State MD, PhD, as the new chair of the Department of Psychiatry and as director of the Langley Porter Psychiatric Institute, effective March 18, 2013.

Dr. State is currently the Donald J. Cohen Professor of Child Psychiatry and professor of Psychiatry and Genetics in the Yale School of Medicine. He is the deputy chair for research in the Department of Psychiatry and co-director of the Program on Neurogenetics.

No stranger to California, he received his undergraduate and medical degree from Stanford University and completed his residency and a fellowship at UCLA, before moving to Yale in 2001 for a PhD in Genetics and to pursue his academic career.

Dr. State is a leading child psychiatrist and internationally recognized expert on the genetics and genomics of autism, Tourette syndrome, and other neurodevelopmental syndromes. He has a longstanding interest in the contribution of rare variation to these disorders and on using gene discovery as an avenue to elaborate molecular mechanisms of disease. In addition to the leadership he will bring to the Department of Psychiatry, Dr. State will play a key role in integrating psychiatry into UCSF’s preeminent neuroscience program.

He is the recipient of numerous awards and honors, including being cited in Science Magazine’s Top 10 Scientific Breakthroughs in 2005 and 2010 for his work on the genetics of Tourette syndrome and brain malformations, respectively. He was the recipient of the Ruane Prize for Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Research from the Brain and Behavior Research Foundation in 2012. As well as being an outstanding scientist, he has been recognized with numerous teaching awards and has mentored scores of students and trainees throughout their careers. He is an active clinician, having led a pediatric psychiatry service at a community mental health center for the past 15 years.

Hawgood and Laret thanked the search committee for their work, noting the exceptional leadership of the committee’s chair, Dr. Steven Hauser. They also expressed their gratitude to Dr. Lowell Tong for his outstanding leadership and dedicated service as interim chair for the department since September of 2011.